Criminal Attorney in Fort Bend Texas

Penalties for Aggravated Assault in Texas

One minute you’re at your favorite bar playing pool with your friends, the next your facing aggravated assault charges for hitting someone with a pool cue after they made mocked your shot. It’s crazy to think that a split-second emotional decision can result in handcuffs, but it happens all the time. Unfortunately, a successful aggravated assault conviction will lead to severe penalties for the charged, which is why it’s important to know the severity of what you’re up against.

Texas Aggravated Assault Penalties

Second-Degree Felony Penalties

All Texas aggravated assault charges are at least second-degree felonies.

A second-degree felony charge can result in the following penalties:

  • Imprisonment of at least two years, but not more than 20 years; and possibly
  • A fine of up to $10,000.

Two years of your life for assault with a deadly weapon, makes you think twice about carrying around a knife. However, Texas aggravated assault charges can be worse than a second-degree felony.

First-Degree Felony Penalties

An aggravated assault charge can be a first-degree felony under specific circumstances.

Some circumstances when an aggravated assault is a first-degree felony include:

  • Aggravated assault against a close family member;
  • Aggravated assault by a public servant acting under color of the servant’s office or employment (e.g., on-duty police officer);
  • Aggravated assault against a public servant while they’re discharging an official duty.

If you’re accused of aggravated assault in any of the above scenarios, you would likely be charged with a first-degree felony.

A first-degree felony charge can result in the following penalties:

  • Imprisonment of at least five years, but not more than 99 years; and possibly
  • A fine of up to $10,000.

All it takes is one poor judgment call to find yourself accused of aggravated assault, and that poor judgment can lead to at least two years in jail. However, an experienced Fort Bend criminal attorney can help you make your case!

Call (281) 817-8737 now for a free consultation concerning your case!

Categories: