Assault with a Deadly Weapon
Fort Bend Criminal Defense Attorney Challenging Your Charges
An assault offense becomes much more serious when the offender uses or displays a deadly weapon while committing the crime. Assault with a deadly weapon is considered an aggravated assault offense in Texas, meaning it is an elevated assault offense that can lead to harsher penalties upon conviction. According to Texas law, a deadly weapon is defined as a firearm or an object that is made, designed or adapted to cause another person serious bodily injury or death, such as a knife. Other types of objects can also be considered deadly weapons if the offender uses the object, or intends to use it, in a way that is capable of causing another person serious bodily injury, according to the state's penal code. For example, a person might use a hammer to seriously injure threaten to seriously injure another individual.
At my office, the Law Office of John L. Venza Jr., I work with individuals who have been accused of committing assault with a deadly weapon and various other types of criminal offenses. I fully understand that just because you were accused of a crime, this does not mean you are actually guilty of the offense. As an experienced Fort Bend criminal defense lawyer, I can serve as your legal advocate in the courtroom, helping you to effectively communicate your side of the story and ensuring that your rights are being fully protected.
Assault with a deadly weapon is normally be considered a second-degree felony, which can potentially lead to a prison term lasting anywhere from 2 to 20 years and a fine of up to $10,000. There are, however, various factors that can lead to the crime to getting bumped up to a first-degree felony, including when the deadly weapon is used in an act of domestic violence and the offense results in certain types of individuals being seriously injured. These individuals include a person with whom the offender has been romantically involved, the offenders' family member or a member of the offender's household. There are also many other types of circumstances that can lead to first-degree felony convictions, which an attorney can further explain. In Texas, a conviction for a first-degree felony can result in a prison term that lasts 5 to 99 years or a life prison term, along with a fine of up to $10,000.
Make sure you have the appropriate level of defense you need so that you can reduce your chances of suffering from severe penalties and a serious crime on your record. Getting help from a criminal defense attorney in Fort Bend could make a major difference in your case!
Take action now—contact the Law Office of John L. Venza Jr. and receive a free consultation.
Developing the right strategy and using my connections in the legal community, I will do my best to get your case dismissed so you can move on with your life.
Should You Talk to the Police Without a Lawyer Present?
- Criminal Law
DUI vs. DWI in Texas: What's the Difference?
Understanding the Differences Between Robbery and Aggravated Robbery in Texas
- Theft Crimes
Understanding the Long-Term Effects of a DWI Conviction
Truth Be Told: A Deeper Look into False Claims
- Criminal Defense,
- Criminal Law
Probation Violation and Rehab
- Criminal Law