Marijuana is a hot topic of debate for many people across America. While citizens in other states choose to legalize the recreational use of weed, marijuana possession is still illegal in Texas. Unfortunately, many Texans believe that marijuana possession charges are nothing to worry about due to its increased popularity; however, a marijuana possession charge is still a serious crime and will lead to dire consequences for the convicted.
Possible Penalties for Marijuana Possession in Texas
It is important to note that the penalties for marijuana possession will directly correlate to the amount of marijuana someone has on his or her person when he or she is arrested.
Here are some of the class charges people face for marijuana possession:
- Less than 2 ounces: Class B misdemeanor;
- More than 2 ounces and less than 4 ounces: Class A misdemeanor; and
- More than 4 ounces and less than five pounds: state jail felony.
Class B Misdemeanor
A class B misdemeanor will result in a fine of up to $2,000, and/or confinement in jail for less than 180 days. Therefore, if you are convicted for possession of 2 ounces of marijuana, you could face up to half a year in jail!
Class A Misdemeanor
A class A misdemeanor will result in a fine of up to $4,000, and/or confinement in jail for less than one year. Therefore, if you are convicted for possession of 4 ounces of marijuana, you could face up to a year in jail!
State Jail Felony
A state jail felony conviction will result in a state jail term of up to at least 180 and no more than two years, and a fine of up to $10,000. Therefore, if you are convicted for possession of 4 pounds of marijuana, you could face up to two years in a state prison!
As you can see, the penalties for marijuana possession are no small matter. If you or a loved one are charged with marijuana possession, hiring attorney John Venza can help your case. He will fight against your charges and for the best possible outcome for your case!
Call (281) 817-8737 now for a free consultation of your case!