There is a reason so many people get caught up in drug game, and that’s because it’s lucrative. Unfortunately, many sellers are unaware of where their supply is coming from, which means they could sell tainted drugs. Therefore, dealers should know the potential penalties for selling tainted drugs to customers.
Penalties for Selling Tainted Drugs
In Texas, criminal charges for selling drugs are severe, but the penalties for selling tainted drugs drastically increases the penalties. The Texas Drug Statutes page says that the manufacture or delivery of a controlled substance causing death or serious bodily injury is punishable by a one-degree increase in charges.
For example, if police catch you selling less than 20 units of LSD, you would be charged with a state jail felony resulting in 180 days- two years in a state prison and a fine of less than $10,000. However, if police catch you selling less than 20 units of LSD that result in bodily harm to purchasers, the accused would face a degree felony.
A degree felony could result in the following penalties:
- Two to ten years in prison;
- A fine of less than $10,000.
As you can see, the penalties for selling tainted drugs can significantly increase the amount of jail time a convict may face. In the above example, tainted drugs will undoubtedly increase jail time by 18 months at least.
Accused of Selling Drugs?
If you or a loved one is accused of selling drugs, you’ll need experienced criminal defense on your case. Attorney John L. Venza Jr. has decades of experience representing clients in criminal cases. If you’re ready for aggressive, relentless, and hard-hitting criminal defense, call John L. Venza Jr. today!
Call (281) 817-8737 now for a free consultation for your case!