What Are The Penalties For DWI Charges?
DWI Defense Lawyer in Fort Bend
At my DWI law practice, the Law Office of John L. Venza Jr., I am frequently asked by my clients what the penalties are for DWI charges in Texas. As a former prosecutor, I am keenly aware of all the possibilities and consequences which arise from a Depending upon the facts of the case, if one is convicted of DWI in the state of Texas, the penalties vary. A first offense of drinking while intoxicated can carry a fine of up to $2,000, anywhere from 3 to 180 days in jail, the loss of your driver's license for up to 1 full year, and an annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for three years in order to retain your driver's license.
As a Fort Bend criminal defense attorney I handle many DWI cases each year. Most of the cases I see are first time offenders, but if a client already has prior DWI convictions on their record, the possible penalties are higher. As a second time DWI offender, your penalties could include a fine of up to $4,000, 30 days to 1 full year in jail, the loss of your driver's license for up to 2 full years, and an annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or as much as $2,000 for 3 years to retain your driver's license.
Get an experienced Fort Bend DWI attorney on your side.
It is important to note that if you are stopped for a DWI and you refuse to submit to a breath or blood test, your driver's license is automatically suspended for 180 days. If you are being charged with a third DWI, you are facing a $10,000 fine, 2 to 10 years in state prison, the loss of your driver's license for up to 2 years, and an annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or as much as $2,000 for 3 years to retain your driver's license. Also, if you have had 2 or more DWI convictions within 5 years, you will be ordered to install an ignition switch to prevent your car from being operated if you have been drinking. This also comes with an installation cost and monthly fee.
Contact my office today for an evaluation of your case to see if I can assist you in avoiding a conviction for DWI.
Recent Case Results
Truth Be Told: A Deeper Look into False Claims
- Criminal Defense,
- Criminal Law
Probation Violation and Rehab
- Criminal Law
Medical Marijuana and Field Sobriety Tests: A Complete Guide
Can Harmful Words be Considered Assault?
Is Self-Defense Considered Assault?
Understanding Assault Charges